The Golden Rays of the Sun

Midnight blue faded away as the sky blue torchlight seeped from the invisible sun below the horizon. The winter morning was quiet with its spell of deep slumber on the town. No sound of birds and squirrels or of the wafting wind…just the crunch of dry leaves upon gravel was heard unaltered as I walked upon a gorgeous path up the hill. On the top of the hill above the sapphire blue glaze of the water, I stood waiting for nature to flick her wand and start the golden magic. This is how God must see it, I thought.

A sense of calm overtook me as I perceived the streak of silver in the golden horizon in front of me. The sky alternated between blushing like a newly-wed girl and turning pure white with highlights of green and blue. The lake was the blessed blanket for earth’s tenants upon which a few boats rested, waiting for their cackling companions to accompany them with their song of friendship. The smell of the terrain refreshed the core of my soul. Green trees, plants and even rocks were ready to welcome their Lord with gifts of live dewy pearls.

As the minutes passed by, the sky became clearer. Then from the deep horizon, came a streak of golden light widening at every second over the reddened sky. I watched as the sun woke up and changed the world in front of me, its light bringing everything to life. The dew drops lighted up like tiny fairy lamps, the lake reflected a golden aura all around, and birds acted as messengers, flying over trees as they chirped news of the breaking dawn. The blanket of slumber was blown away by the fresh morning wind.

After a while the sun opened its eyes fully and looked at me, its rays reaching out and touching me soothingly. I was absorbed by the light. I closed my eyes and felt a sudden rush of energy charging through the cells of my body. I was electrified, and filled up with a new vigor by the lovely warmth of the sun. I then opened my eyes to see my golden friend. The world had cheered up into a sunny sight. Yet it remained cool, thanks to the beautiful wind that blew. My hair danced in this wind in a shade of the most beautiful light brown, and my skin glowed golden. I could hear the squirrels playing and I could see the yellow butterflies and white ducks having fun. The sun had truly transformed us…touching the souls and hearts of all living beings of this earth with a ray of hope.

Prachi Shah is a first year student at the National Law Institute University, Bhopal. 

This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment